Performing Arts: Dance
July 17, 2014
The New York Dance and Performance Awards (The Bessies) have become an annual tradition within the NYC dance scene, 30 years in the making. Produced in partnership with Dance/NYC, the awards honor the groundbreaking creative work of independent dance artists - from choreographers and dancers to composers and visual designers. 36 nominees for the 2014 Bessies were announced (see below) at the Wed. July 16 press conference held at Gibney Dance Center's newly acquired space in downtown Manhattan.

The category of Outstanding Emerging Choreographer - with nominees including Rashida Bumbray, Jessica Lang, Jen Rosenblit, and Gillian Walsh - was the only category in which the award was announced. Both Jessica Lang and Jen Rosenblit were recognized for their recent work in the dance field, as the vote was tied. In addition, the 2014 Juried Bessie Award Committee was named and will include Tere O'Connor, Annie B-Parson, and Eduardo Vilaro. These three choreographers will be responsible for selecting a single work/choreographer that is presenting exciting ideas in dance for special recognition.

Nominees for the Bessies are as follows:
Outstanding Performer: Maggie Cloud, Sean Donovan, Julia Hausermann, Sean Jackson, Mickey Mahar, Angela "Angel" McNeal, Sara Mearns, Aakash Odedra, Tiler Peck, Rebecca Serrell-Cyr, Linda Celeste Sims, and Stuart Singer.
Outstanding Music Composition/Sound Design: Complete, with guitarist Giuliano Modarelli; G. Lucas Crane, Steven Taylor, and Nicholas Young.
Outstanding Revival: "Dark Swan" by Nora Chipaumire, "Myth or Meth (or Maybe Moscow?)" by Radiohole, "State of Heads" by Donna Uchizono, and "Bach Partita" by Twyla Tharp.

Outstanding Production: Asase Yaa African American Dance Theatre's "Djembe in the New Millennium," Camille A. Brown's "MR. TOL E. RAncE," Mallory Catlett's "This Was the End," Liz Gerring's "Glacier," Maria Hassabi's "Premiere," John Jasperse's "Within Between," Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker's "En Atendant/Cesena," Akram Khan's "Desh," Sarah Michelson's "4," MIMULUS Cia de Danca's "Dolores," Okwui Okpokwasili's "Bronx Gothic," and Aki Sasamoto's "Sunny in the Furnace."

Outstanding Visual Design: Thomas Dunn; Patricia Forelle with Jenny Mui, Avram Finkelstein, Kelly Morganroth, Nicholas Vermeer, Olivia Barr, and William Ward; Peter Ksander, Olivera Gajic, Ryan Holsopple, Chris Kuhl, and Keith Skretch; and, Tim Yip.

IN celebration of the Bessie's 30th anniversary, Oct. 1, Gibney's "Sorry I Missed Your Show" series features the screening of an EYE ON DANCE program shot during the 1989, Bessie Awards 5th anniversary event at BAM. Lucy Sexton and Laurie Uprichard will join EOD host and producer Celia Ipiotis in a conversation about the Bessie Awards' roots and expansion.

The 2014 Bessies, where all remaining award winners will be announced, is scheduled for Monday, October 20th at the legendary Apollo Theater.
EYE ON THE ARTS, NY - Jenny Thompson

©2001 Eye and Dance and the Arts | All Rights Reserved